Poulet au Chilli

You probably will ask what is this recipe’s title meant, it is actually a French dish I watched at French Food at Home by Laura Calder, and I think it would translate into chicken cook in chilli style. The original recipe called for paprika, I haven’t had that in hand, so I replaced with smoky dried chilli powder.

My grandparents thought this was curry, but I’m lazy to explain to them, they won’t appreciate it anyway. Surprisingly, my grandpa love this recipe and said it taste really great. Of course I’m not boasting about my cooking, it’s just I’m happy that somebody compliment the food I made, I mean who wouldn’t be?

Ingredients:

  • 150g of chicken thigh, cut into chunk
  • 2 red peppers,
  • 1 celery stick,
  • 1 onion,
  • 2 garlic clove,
  • 2 bay leaf,
  • 4 tbsp of tomato purée,
  • 2 tsp of smoky dried chilli powder,
  • 2 cups of water,
  • 2 tbsp of Chinese cooking wine,
  • 1 1/2 tbsp of heavy cream,

Sprinkle the meat with salt and pepper, and brown in all side. When I’m pressing for time, I use the wok and just quickly fry the chicken, sometimes you don’t have the patience to wait for the meat to un-stick from the pan.

Once the chicken is done, stir in all the chopped vegetables, and cook for about 10 minutes till the onion is translucent and shrink in size. Pour in water and wine, then mix in the tomato purée. Finally in goes the bay leaf and chilli powder.

Close the lid and simmer for 20 minutes. The cream gets mix in the last-minute before it’s served.

Leave a Reply

