Braise Pork Belly with Bean Curd

There’s a lot of times my grandma can’t afford to cook for the family, since her feet are getting weak to move around. And my father will ask me to go out and pack some food back. I just HATES the idea of take out food, I had enough of outside meal when I’m at my colleague.

So, I’m decided to take my grandma’s place in the kitchen, and cook for the day. And it’s a great way for me as well, to learn some traditional dishes from her, such shamed I ate it everyday and didn’t know how to cook. This recipe is a good start, because she makes the braise pork belly so often, and I love to drench my rice with the gravy, very delicious.

Ingredients:

  • 200g of pork belly, cubed
  • 1 tbsp of dark soy sauce,
  • half a head of garlic, smashed with side of knife
  • 4 shallots, sliced
  • 1 packet of bean curd,
  • 5 hard-boiled eggs,

Bring a saucepan with 3 cups of water to boil. In a hot wok, fry garlic and shallot. Let it colored slightly, but not char, and stir in the pork belly. Once the pork belly is brown, pour in the dark soy sauce, and everything turns caramelized and sticky.

Scoop into the saucepan, and throw in the bean curd. Season with salt and pepper, and let it simmers for 20 minutes with the lid on. For the last 5 minutes of cooking time, tumble in the eggs to heat it.

You can substitute the side ingredients to suit your taste, put in 4 sliced potatoes instead of the egg, use a firm tofu than the bean curd, or pour in some Chinese cooking wine.

Leave a Reply

