Chocolate Moist Cake

There was this particular afternoon that I craved for something dense and melt-in-mouth to eat. And I thought what could be better than a chocolate cake. Disappointed by my searching online and recipe book, in the end I went with my intuition, follows whatever that is in my mind. You know what, the cake turned out to be a blast, and my mum love it too.

Looking at the step I made the cake, it actually my adaptation of the recipe of Chocolate Lava Cake, where you got this gorgeous flowing chocolate sauce in the belly. I bake this version longer, so the “lava” inside firmed up a bit, making it melting and luscious.

Ingredients:

  • 100g butter
  • 100g dark chocolate, melted
  • 2 eggs, separated
  • 1/2 cup castor sugar
  • 1 tbs cocoa powder
  • 1/2 cup ground almond
  • 1 tsp vanilla essence
  • 2 tbs all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/3 cup milk

Cream butter and sugar till fluffy, add in egg yolk one at a time, beat well. Fold in cool melted chocolate, and stir in all the dry ingredients. Thin the batter with milk, this is going to provide soft texture to the cake.

In another bowl, whisk egg white to form firm peak. Stir to the batter half of the egg white to lighten the whole mixture. Fold the other half in and pour into a prepared tin. This goes to the 150C oven for 40min. You will noticed when it is done, where the top sinked, yet still moist in the center.

This cake is best eaten after it’s been chilled in the fridge, because I found the cake is too soft when it is warm, though I could resist to take a few bite. The cake become much more denser and chewier after chilled in the fridge, and you could feel joy flow through your body when you sink the fork into it. And it just melt away in the mouth! It is fantastic as it is, but if you eat with some ice-cream, you are in heaven.

Leave a Reply

